Join a webinar on ‘What’s in a good birth?’

Join a webinar on ‘What’s in a good birth?’
Doreen Anican recovers after a successful normal delivery in the Maternal Health ward in Parombo Health Centre III in the West Nile region, Uganda in June 2010. Looking on are the health workers who assisted her during the d ©UNICEF/Noorani

WHO recommendations on intrapartum care for a positive childbirth experience

Wednesday 6 June, 2018 at 8.00 am EST, noon GMT, 2.00 pm CEST, 3pm EAT, 5.30pm IST  (duration: 1 hour)

 

Click here to join
The Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal and Newborn Health (Quality of Care Network), is organizing a webinar on ‘What’s in a good birth? WHO recommendations on intrapartum care for a positive childbirth experience’.

There has been a substantial increase over the last two decades in the application of a range of labour practices to initiate, accelerate, terminate, regulate or monitor the physiological process of labour, with the aim of improving outcomes for women and babies. This increasing medicalization of childbirth processes tends to undermine the woman’s own capability to give birth and negatively impacts her childbirth experience.

While introducing the new WHO guidelines on intrapartum care, the speaker will focus on the

experience of care as a critical aspect of ensuring high-quality labour and childbirth care and improved woman-centred outcomes, and not just complementary to provision of routine clinical practices.

The presentation will be followed by a Q & A session.

Presenter: Dr Olufemi Oladapo, maternal, perinatal, and newborn health research and public health expert, working in the Department of Reproductive Health and Research, WHO.

Who should join: Implementers and managers of maternal; and child health programmes, healthcare facility managers, NGOs, healthcare professionals.

Resources:

See the details on all previous Quality of Care Network’s webinars:

http://qualityofcarenetwork.org/about/webinars

The Quality of Care Network brings together countries and implementing partners to deliver the vision that “Every mother and newborn receives quality care throughout the pregnancy, childbirth and postnatal periods”. The Quality of Care Network is led by ten countries (Bangladesh, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Malawi, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Tanzania and Uganda), and supports the implementation of national plans for quality improvement. Its Learning Platform is building a community of health practitioners across all levels of service delivery, to harvest local implementation ideas and share experiences within and across countries.

www.qualityofcarenetwork.org


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


5 + 6 =