Join a webinar on point of care quality improvement for maternal and newborn health

Join a webinar on point of care quality improvement for maternal and newborn health
Midwifes checks up on a newly delivered child at the Chharch Maternity health sub centre in the Chharch district of the cenral Indian state of Madhya Pradesh. © UNICEF/Halle'n

 

Wednesday 29 March, 2017 at 1pm GMT, 3pm CAT, 4pm EAT, 6.30pm IST and 7pm BST (duration: 1 hour)

Can’t join the meeting?

The Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (Quality of Care Network) is organizing a webinar to explore what Quality Improvement (QI) is and how health care workers can carry out QI at health facility level.

The speaker will highlight the underlying organizational and structures that are required, as well how teams can use problem solving processes and techniques in order to demonstrate and sustain improvement. The presentation will be followed by a Q & A session. This is the first webinar in a series to look into key issues around quality of care improvement from a country perspective.

Presenter: Nigel Livesley, Regional Director for South Asia for the USAID Applying Science to Strengthen Health Systems project implemented by University Research Co. For the past 15 years, Nigel has focused on strengthening the ability of various health systems in Africa and Asia to use quality improvement (QI) approaches to deliver better care.  He is interested in how health workers can use QI methods to solve problems within they clinics and communities  and how governments and other organizations can support the spread of QI methods.

Who should join: Health practitioners and managers

The Quality of Care Network brings together countries and implementing partners to deliver the vision that “Every mother and newborn receives quality care throughout the pregnancy, childbirth and postnatal periods”. The Quality of Care Network is led by nine countries (Bangladesh, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Malawi, Nigeria, Tanzania and Uganda), and supports the implementation of national plans for quality improvement. Its Learning Platform brings together health practitioners from the facility level and up, to develop evidence-based, context-specific, strategies for improvement of quality of care. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


+ 1 = 8