Join a webinar on: Linking communities and facilities to improve maternal and newborn health Lessons from the Expanded Quality Management Using Information Power in Uganda and Tanzania

Join a webinar on: Linking communities and facilities to improve maternal and newborn health  Lessons from the Expanded Quality Management Using Information Power in Uganda and Tanzania
Health worker Grace Wanambwa cradles 5-day-old David in the post-natal wing of the maternity ward at Butenga Health Centre IV, in Bukomansimbi District, Uganda in September 2013.  ©UNICEF/Vassie

Thursday 9 November, 2017 at 7 am EST, noon GMT, 1pm CET, 3pm EAT and 5:30pm IST (duration: 1 hour)

Click here to register

The Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (Quality of Care Network), is organizing a webinar to share some of the lessons from the ‘Expanded Quality Management Using Information Power’ (EQUIP) initiative, implemented by Mkerere University and Ifakara Health Institution in 2010-2014 in the Tandahimba district in southern Tanzania and Mayuge district in eastern Uganda.

EQUIP proposed an innovative intervention in Tanzania and Uganda to improve maternal and newborn health with an expanded health system quality management approach that linked communities and facilities using locally generated data.

The speaker, Dr Peter Waiswa, will talk about the need for quality improvement initiatives to both address quality improvement of care in the facilities and demand for care in the communities, to see lasting results. Dr Waiswa will present some of the outcomes of the project in specific health facilities.

The presentation will be followed by a Q & A session.

EQUIP has published a paper detailing the effects of the initiatives, as well as a series of briefs and a video.

This is a webinar in the special country highlights series of the Quality of Care Network. See here the details on all webinars in the series on capacity building for improving quality of care in health facilities: http://www.qualityofcarenetwork.org/about/network-activities

The Quality of Care Network brings together countries and implementing partners to deliver the vision that “Every mother and newborn receives quality care throughout the pregnancy, childbirth and postnatal periods”. The Quality of Care Network is led by nine countries (Bangladesh, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Malawi, Nigeria, Tanzania and Uganda), and supports the implementation of national plans for quality improvement. Its Learning Platform is building a community of health practitioners across all levels of service delivery, to harvest local implementation ideas and share experiences within and across countries.

www.qualityofcarenetwork.org


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


+ 6 = 14