Digital health in action in Malawi and Kenya: join the conversation

Digital health in action in Malawi and Kenya: join the conversation
A community health worker sends a Rapid SMS message for an ambulance, Rwanda 2011 ©UNICEF/Nooran

 

The Life-Saving Commodities Practitioners’ Network is organizing a Skype discussion on Tuesday 25 October, on the practical use of digital health solutions for RMNCH, with a spotlight on two examples from Malawi and Kenya.

We will start the session with a brief presentation of the mHBB (mobile Helping Babies Breathe) initiative in Kenya, designed to support the implementation of the Helping Babies Breathe program, and cStock, a digital health reporting and resupply system in Malawi, followed by a discussion with callers.

The details of the session are as follows :

  • Date and time : Tuesday 25 October, 2016 at 10 am EST, 7am PDT, 3pm BST, 3pm WAT, 5 pm EAT
  • Calling details :Join the Skype Meeting
  • Moderator : Nadi Nina Kaonga, HealthEnabled
  • Presenters :

Clifford Dedza, Technical Officer with the Malawi Ministry of Health, and overseeing the implementation of the cStock initiative in Malawi. cStock is a digital health reporting and resupply system. It allows community health workers to send SMS with stock information, therefore escalating community level data to all levels of the system, and calculates the resupply needs for individual community health workers. cStock is implemented country-wide by the Ministry of Health. It was orginally developed by JSI with the support of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and is now supported by World Vision through the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria.

Sherri Bucher, Principal Investigator and Assistant Professor of Pediatrics Indiana University School of Medicine. Sherri will introduce mHBB, an integrated mobile phone-based data collection, reporting, and refresher training system designed to support the implementation of the Helping Babies Breathe (HBB) neonatal resuscitation educationalprogram. mHBB helps track when, where  and how HBB courses are  being implemented, assists Trainers to evaluate the knowledge, skills, and competencies of Learners, and supports quality improvement efforts.To date, mHBB has been piloted in 23 health facilities and one referral hospital in Western Kenya. It is implemented by the Indiana University School of Medicine and Moi University School of Medicine in collaboration with the Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing, and in partnership with Laerdal Foundation for Acute Medicine and Johnson and Johnson.

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


+ 6 = 14